11 independent reviews for Winter adventure in Finland

Reviews for Winter adventure in Finland

SHOW
11
0
0
0
0

review 18 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The 2 day husky safari was amazing spending time in the winter wilderness with the huskies was tiring but worth the effort and you just fell in love and admired the dogs by the end of your trip

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you are doing the huskies you must be relatively fit as it is tiring and hard work at times. But overall just go and enjoy new experiences and have fun

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It seemed to benefit local people who were the guides on the trips and it is a big thing in Finland to take care about your impact on the environment

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing and a lifetime full of memories

review 19 Jan 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Snowmobile, over night husky safari.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Layers of clothing, pocket warmers for both toes and hands & bring something from your home land to give the guides, ours guides were fabulous.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had an amazing experience. The guides (Toni snowmobile & daytrips & Piieta & Nicko - Overnight husky safari) were great fun. Very friendly and gave us the opportunity to experience the local culture. There was a representative at the hotel every day in the event we had a problem but fortunately for us, everything went to plan. I would highly recommend this tour operator for this adventure. Its a once in a lifetime experience and I recommend, doing it!!

review 7 Jan 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of It. It was a dream come true. The 2 days Husky Safary and Snowmobiling were my favorite but probably only because the Reindeer trip was too short and did not have time to really appreciate it.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't pack too much and definitely not fancy clothes, you will not use them.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Definitely a 5 star. I will go back for sure. I took this trip with a friend but I think it is a trip that solo travelers would enjoy very much as well.

review 31 Dec 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was all so wonderful but I think the peace and quiet of Pine Lodge was the most memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just to make sure that you wear wool things.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I was so pleased to benefit the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was so well organized and I would like to thank Goran and Ann. Just one comment. I was taken to the airport far too early, I was in the airport at least four hours and it is small.

review 13 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The 2 day husky safari and seeing the northern lights more than once!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Treat seeing the northern lights as a bonus rather than an expectation. The weather could be cloudy!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, most of the service staff and all of our guides were Finns, and we thought care was given both to the animals and environmental impacts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 13 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The 2 day husky safari

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you have enough warm base-layers. Suggest you take at least 2 tops and bottoms of the warm variety since it gets down to -22'C.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

5 stars

review 14 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Husky safari

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty of money.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A little.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent but expensive.

review 7 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A winter wonderland. Untouched snow for miles. The friendliness of the guides.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Get ready for cold weather, and have plenty of money for the optional tours.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Everybody employed was a local, and all paid attention to the history and natural environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 4 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was memorable. The staff at the Jeris hotel were wonderful. They made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel was well equipped and staying there was like being a part of a small, close knit community. We would love to go back. The whole experience was everything I dreamed it would be and so much more.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We took many clothes with us but only ended up wearing a handful. The winter gear provided by the hotel was more than adequate to keep us warm. I would suggest taking some ski goggles especially for the snow mobile tours as the helmets provided often iced up.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were able to take a bus in to the town so I believe this helped the local people in shops, bars etc. The nearby Reindeer shop was regularly visited by guests from the hotel. I had heard some horror stories regarding animals in the northern countries being exploited for tourism but I saw none of this during my stay. The huskeys and Reindeers were well cared for, given plenty of attention and really seemed to enjoy the interaction.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

In my opinion this vacation was definately up there with the best of them. From the moment of booking, communication was excellent, any queries I had were answered promptly. There was a little confusion at the airport in Kittila upon arrival but this was probably due to the sudden influx of flights arriving. The Jeris representative was a little over whelmed and flustered but once on the bus to the hotel, the vacation came into its own. The hotel was small but well formed, the staff were amazing, to the point of exchanging contact details. The activities were very well organised and the whole week was totally amazing. I cant thank everyone involved enough for the hard work, effort and time put into organising such a fabulous vacation. I would highly recommend the vacation and we are hoping to return one day in the future. Money very well spent!

review 15 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The overnight husky safari was cold but great fun

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Travel with a companion if possible as easier to do some of the activities on offer in your free days

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - tourism offers employment to local people and felt it was done in an environmentally friendly way

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 17 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The two day husky safari was a tremendous experience. Everyone in our group loved it.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It is essential that you buy marino wool thermals. Also the hotel give you a balaclava but the marino wool one I bought, was much better. I also had silk glove liners and my own woollen socks. being warm is the key to enjoying this vacation. We took hand and foot warmers (available in all outdoor shops) and the 'hot hands' were the most successful. Put them in your sock and gloves before you go out as this makes them work better.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Many of the staff were local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was fantastic. The hotel however could do better in terms of information and advice.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Uneasy no settle reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy