62 independent reviews for Southern Croatia cruise in comfort

Reviews for Southern Croatia cruise in comfort

SHOW
35
22
5
0
0

review 28 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Visiting a different lovely port everyday.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you have special requests for drinks, tell the barman on your first day. e.g. My husband wanted alcohol-free beer and the lovely barman Sasha was very happy to stock it for him.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The best vacation of my life!!!!!!

review 21 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting new people from different countries.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax and enjoy

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited the local people/economy, not so sure about the environmental impact though

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant. The tour guide, Stan was friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful, the crew were also great. The scenery and islands visited were amazing.

review 16 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being on a small ship, being able to wander around, enjoying the beautiful views, swimming in the Adriatic, being with a small group of congenial people and getting to know them, being so well cared for by the staff, who worked very hard and efficiently and in a friendly manner - especially appreciated because my sister and I are both over 80 years old. The cabins were well appointed (I liked the lights above the beds - made reading very easy).

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Can't think of any. It's good that the dress code is casual! Understand the additional costs that one incurs.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Only in a general way. No emphasis was placed on this aspect. But my sister and I realized that tourism is probably essential to the well-being of people living on the coast - the land was arid, except for patches where there were vineyards. I don't know how much fuel the ship used; nor how it disposed of its waste - with 40 passengers and crew on board. How much plastic do we use that could be reduced? Plastic water bottles?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was VERY enjoyable. Thank you!

review 15 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hard to say... it was all a great experience but if I had to say it would be the friends we made.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book out of season as we did... the weather was still good and everywhere was really quiet...

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Iím not sure it helped conservation or environment... as was indicated in Dubrovnik particularly too many people cause negative impact on the environment but positive on tourism that must help locals... not sure how you deal with that

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing... crew, boat, tour guides, Croatia...

review 15 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walking around Dubrovnik

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take bathing costumes as there are several opportunities for swimming in the wonderfully boyant Adriatic

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

By eating out in the evenings we certainly benefited local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Relaxing, enjoyable

review 8 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Such a good chance to meet so many great people from so many countries, e.g. Lapland, Tasmania, Denmark, etc. Having only 36 people on the boat, four tables of nine meant we soon got to know each other. It was like being in a big family. Swimming from the boat was exciting. When there was a strong current, we could swim inside a big ring of floating rope.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do bring or buy (only £5) water shoes, as beaches can be stony and painful. You'll need a bathing towel.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Eating in the evening mostly on land would be good for locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good indeed. All the crew very helpful and friendly and food very good too.

review 24 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole experience of cruising along and enjoying the scenery and arriving at different destinations every day (after glorious cooling off swimming stops!)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it!! There really is nothing to fault this trip on. It's extremely casual and friendly.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel it benefitted local people more than the larger cruise ships as we would eat an evening meal and have more time for spending opportunities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was tremendous and far exceeded our expectations with the boat, crew, lovely fellow passengers and stunning destinations. Would definitely do another one!

review 23 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Traveling and exploring different parts of Croatia.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Travel light, limited clothes. Swim wear and boat shoes a must and light clothes as very warm.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A purchase perspective perhaps.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 20 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were so many! But even given the daily joys of swimming off the boat and visiting the ports (etc), the most memorable thing was our cruise manager. Her knowledge, humor, care, and attention were the glue that held it all together and made it work.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Among Lupus Mare's lower level cabins, book the ones at the corners not the middle. The latter were significantly smaller.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The cruise certainly benefited local people by bringing travelers to smaller ports along the Dalmatian coast, where our evenings generated shopping and dining revenues at local establishments and business for local walking and other tour guides. A bit more along these lines could be done by providing passengers with information about events in these ports (dance, music, etc).

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was splendid. Wonderful food, company, sights and experiences. Incredible September weather didn't hurt either!

review 19 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Wanting to go back to Croatia and do another cruise.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just let go and enjoy!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The cruise was fantastic. The guide and the crew very friendly and knowledgeable. The boat, Lupus Mare, spacious, the cabin and the bathroom very good. The sunbathing deck perfect. Totally enjoyable.

review 16 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy a relaxed cruise and become part of a cruise family for a week, staff look after you so well. Beach towels and toletries were included although we were advised we needed to take our own

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Calling into the smaller ports enabling us to spend money in those ports.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A wonderful way to explore Croatia

review 2 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Dinner at an incredible restaurant, with vaulted ceilings, within the walls of the old city of Split.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take Croatian Kuna to pay your bill on the boat as they do not take credit cards.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 2 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the beautiful Croatian islands from the boat

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack light, comfortable clothes, be friendly and take in the beautiful surroundings

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Perfect

review 29 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We loved getting a taste of various towns on the islands along the coast. Swimming in Mljet National Park was our favorite!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Booking a lower deck cabin is cheaper and is much calmer to nap in when the sea gets rough. Also, into/out of Dubrovnik instead of Split if you can; there is more to see and do in Dubrovnik and it feels less touristy during the day than Split

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We never would have experienced so many different towns and fishing villages if it were not for the cruise route, so we feel we definitely supported local tourism in places off the beaten path

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was as relaxing and enjoyable as we hoped it would be and would recommend to others!

review 22 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Peacefully lying on a lounger on the sundeck, on the way to the next island.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book a lower deck cabin. It's less noisy when you're parked next to a party boat.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not exactly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I enjoyed it immensely. The week was well planned, with plenty of swimstops, and night-time moorings were varied either in large ports or small harbours. There were activities every day if you wished to take part, such as wine tastings, city tours, cable car rides, etc., and plenty of free time.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to see you really enjoyed the trip. I am a little surprised to to see that you don't think the cruise will have benefited the local economy. The vessel is owned and crewed by Croatians, and all the food served on board is bought locally. Additionally you will have eaten ashore on most nights providing income for all the small restaurants and cafes that line the ports, and many of which grow their own produce locally, including wine, cheese and olives. The vessels pays mooring fees to the small ports that larger vessels cannot access thus helping maintain the ports facilities.

review 13 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Both Split and Dubrovnik are great places to visit, although very crowded - with good food and friendly people. The Islands are beautiful and as a result can be crowded. The Boat had 34 guests and was run very efficiently with great staff and good food - a real real treat for 6 days of relaxing, swimming and fun guided tours of the stop off points.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Croatia can get very hot from June onwards which can make walking about and sightseeing difficult. Next time we will go to this area earlier say the end of May to catch easier temperatures and less people. Take a pair of good shoes as walking can be a challenge both in towns and out and about. Food portions can be very large and a shared meal is often enough for two. ATMs are plentiful - euros are not very useful.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

If you make point of not buying imported tat then local people will benefit. We would like to think that our vacation didn't leave to big an environmental footprint, but only time will tell.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Lovely country with truly welcoming people, history, landscape and good food. Would recommend.

review 2 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Most memorable was visiting the Old Towns at each destination. Beautiful old stone buildings, narrow stone streets, set next the the crystal blue Adriatiac Sea.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go for top deck, try all the local food.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes this benefitted local people, as the crew, captain, and tour director were all local Croatians. I think the small boats have a much smaller effect on the environment than the bigger ships, and allow you to visit some really beautiful places that the big ships can't go.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a great vacation. The Dalmatian coast is incredibly scenic, the Croatians were welcoming and friendly, the food was delicious. It was a nice rhythm to fall into - breakfast, swim break, lunch, maybe another swim break, dock, explore beautiful old town and have dinner under an umbrella.

review 2 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Actually being at sea amid these historic islands was a wonderful experience. Mooring right in the centre at Split was great. Visiting the cave at Vela Luka with evidence of 20.000 years of human presence; the castellated lookout at Omis; and the lakes at Mljet National Park were very special. Slano was a relaxing contrast to the famous harbours of Korkula and Hvar. The impressive wine-tasting and visit to Ston with its ancient salt-pans was fascinating. Watching World Cup footie in the bars with the locals (especially for a Croatia game) was a once-in-four-year experience!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I didn't go on the guided town tours because I'd been there before, but if it's your first time they seemed to give a good introduction to these fabulous places. If you get to Dubrovnik on the early flight, drop your luggage at the boat and spend the morning/afternoon up to the pre-dinner briefing at 7pm exploring the Old Town, as there's only the Friday afternoon and evening free for this, plus the walking tour is Friday at 4pm and this would reduce Dubrovnik time further.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in some smaller ports and ate locally, plus our boat was owned and staffed locally. We paid the tourist tax and entrance fees for the national parks. The wine cellar we visited was a small and extremely impressive local business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

My rating is assuming you accept that schedules are changeable depending on the weather and the local harbourmaster's instructions as to docking times and places. Also that after a salad buffet, food at lunch and dinner is 'family service', ie on a large salver to pass round, and there is a pasta or rice dish plus another meat dish, then dessert or fruit.

review 1 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Just the ability to chill out on the sun deck whilst taking in the beautiful scenery. Also, Korcula is a jewel in the Adriatic.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Time your visits into Dubrovnik. you do not want to coincide with cruise ships

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism in Croatia is extensive and needs to be handled carefully. Too much tourism will destroy its beauty

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good, very relaxing and beautiful stops.

review 28 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The cruise itself

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring a book

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful

review 20 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was all memorable! We loved Croatia. There was plenty of time to poke around at each stop. I loved having a knowledgeable tour guide at the stops to tell us the history.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Being an American, I loved being with people from other countries and getting to know them.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes i do.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was wonderful! Antonio was great and very accommodating!

review 18 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

River rafting near split.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Donít take many clothes, be prepared to socialise.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes absolutely we were dropped off at local, towns were activities and food was available.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great.

review 13 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being able to meet people from other countries and backgrounds and also see some amazing sights around Croatia

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you get a deck cabin. Be sure to take a camera, sunsreen and a good sunhat plus your bathers.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - but the impact is possibly not all positive - coping with the influx of tourists from boats is certainly helpful economically but it is very intrusive socially especially when there are large cruise ships in town (eg Dubrovnik and Split)

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great - it was interesting, relaxing informative and fun.

review 3 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The crew on the boats the people we met in the boat and the weather and locations!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it now! Donít hesitate, I couldnít fault it! Great for a casual cruise with no airs and graces but exceptional professional and kind and friendly service

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, supporting local economies and family businesses

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Outstanding

review 21 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The itinerary was great - all of it was memorable. (The 7 night cruise round the Dalmatian coast from Split). Loved being on the top deck as we sailed past the coast and islands. I couldn't jump off the ship so couldnt take advantage of the swim stops (though enjoyed watching the brave ones - the water is cold in May). So a memorable moment was when they took us in relays in the little speed boat to the famous Zlatni Rat beach in Brac. Don't take that off the itinerary!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

1. No need to overpack - it is informal and you can wash clothes as you go. You can buy summer gear out there cheaply, especially in Split. 2. Later in the season it will be very hot. Be careful not to overdo the sun and to use high factor sun cream. Wear a hat or visor. 3. There is already a warning in the literature for those with mobility problems, but to emphasise, you will have to walk through a number of boats to get on and off. The greatest number of boats on our early season trip was 5, that can go up to 20 in July or August! Can be tricky jumping across the spaces between the boats. One elderly guest couldnt go offshore at some places. 5. Dont be afraid to go alone. I felt very relaxed and everyone on board was great company . With 18 cabins, the ship was a perfect size. 6. I got a cheap flight to Split on the Wednesdayand stayed cheaply in an apartment for the three nights before joining the ship (or you could get a B&B). I booked the flights and apartment online. That worked well. I liked Split a lot and felt comfortable being on my own there. 7. Dont go in July or August - too hot, too crowded. May was nice, though there is the risk of occasional rain. September would be a good month as the sea would be warm.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

1. I liked that the boats are owned by Croations. Our skipper had his own olive trees and we sampled his olive oil. It gives employment to local people. 2. We were given two bottles of water free each day. That is a lot of plastic but probably difficult to find a solution. You do need the water. 3. My only dislike about the trip, which was 5 star overall, was that smoking was allowed on the middle deck in the seating area outside the salon. That bothered quite a few people. You couldnt have that in the US or Australia, where most of the guests were from. 4. Tourism is essential for Croatians but places get overcrowded in high season and locals get priced out of places like Dubrovnik, which has become a dead city in winter. Sad.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Just wonderful. It was one of the best vacations I have ever had. Canít recommend it too highly. The boat, MS Moonlight, was very comfortable, luxurious even and the crew were excellent - incredibly hardworking. The below-deck cabin was comfortable. The food on board was good. I asked for fish rather than meat and they were fine with that. They even provided gluten-free bread for one guest. The coastline was beautiful and there was a nice mix of historic (Dubrovnik and Split) and conservation (Mijet national park) and small (the little village of Trstenik). The three one hour walking tours added to our appreciation of the towns and all the guides were very good.

review 28 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Mljet was just beautiful, stunning scenery and very few tourists

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you are looking for a relaxed, casual experience with fantastic staff and service then this is the trip for you. If you are looking for 5 star black tie dining and cabaret then this isnít for you.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Somewhat, all the staff were Croatian however a cruise wouldnít be typically environmentally friendly

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely fantastic, from the staff to the fellow travelers, to the amazing country and fabulous food we could not recommend this trip enough.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad to see how much you enjoyed your vacation. A cruise on a small ship in general won't improve the environment, but it is usually better than a large vessel and various other forms of transport - Especially a flight. There are some benefits in that having more accommodation available negates the need for building hotels, which can be bad for the environment (Quarrying, transport, building etc). We do try to minimise the environmental impact of the cruises, for instance the vessels usually only motor for around 4 hours per day - Larger vessel are forced to cruise for much longer as they can't stop in the nearby small ports. I believe Responsible Tourism is more than just the environment though - To support the local communities and customs it is important that people do visit, and how they visit. The ship is locally owned and managed, the crew are all Croatian, and you will have spent a lot of time ashore eating in restaurants and cafes, and using local guides, and we consider that to be very important.

review 24 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The stunning coastline & stopping at a different location daily.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Talk to the cruise director about dietary requirements.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No environmental benefits - in fact there was a lot of food waste generated on the trip. Yes it was good that local guides were used at each stop.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A really good experience overall. Unfortunately very late one night a very drunk passenger from another boat entered our cabin - which was not a good experience.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad to see how much you enjoyed your vacation. A cruise on a small ship in general won't improve the environment, but it is usually better than a large vessel and various other forms of transport - Especially a flight. There are some benefits in that having more accommodation available negates the need for building hotels, which can be bad for the environment (Quarrying, transport, building etc). We do try to minimise the environmental impact of the cruises, for instance the vessels usually only motor for around 4 hours per day - Larger vessel are forced to cruise for much longer as they can't stop in the nearby small ports. I believe Responsible Tourism is more than just the environment though - To support the local communities and customs it is important that people do visit, and how they visit. The ship is locally owned and managed, the crew are all Croatian, and you will have spent a lot of time ashore eating in restaurants and cafes, and using local guides, and we consider that to be very important.

review 8 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Korcula and the swimming

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Expect to go home 3to5. Lbs heavier

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really . There were too many tourist to confirm this very

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. The boat crew were amazing and made sure that as a disabled person ,everything was done for me. The boat was not as new as expected but recently refurbished well.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad to see how much you enjoyed your vacation. A cruise on a small ship in general won't improve the environment, but it is usually better than a large vessel and various other forms of transport - Especially a flight. There are some benefits in that having more accommodation available negates the need for building hotels, which can be bad for the environment (Quarrying, transport, building etc). We do try to minimise the environmental impact of the cruises, for instance the vessels usually only motor for around 4 hours per day - Larger vessel are forced to cruise for much longer as they can't stop in the nearby small ports. I believe Responsible Tourism is more than just the environment though - To support the local communities and customs it is important that people do visit, and how they visit. The ship is locally owned and managed, the crew are all Croatian, and you will have spent a lot of time ashore eating in restaurants and cafes, and using local guides, and we consider that to be very important.

review 8 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The entire vacation was amazing. Not one day or occasion is better than another.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy yourself with everyone on board and take the time to be friends with the staff.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate out every night at local family restaurants so sure we benefitted the Croatians.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would rate the vacation 9 out of 10. Would like to have had coffee or tea available first thing in the morning. Food was very good but not excellent.

review 5 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Companionship and friendships with fellow passengers

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book a mini cruise Croatian island hopping before the end of September as the weather changes quickly and deteriorates around this time. Be prepared for multiple steps on any Island and especially in Dubrovnic

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did enhance the local economy as we all ate evening meal daily, and boat was locally owned and various guided tours conducted by local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good and thoroughly enjoyed

review 2 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Chatting and laughing a lot with little groups of people from all over the world, sitting in the sun, enjoying the wind and the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Keep an open mind and go with the flow. Our cruise was very much dominated by a very noisy and physically pushy bunch of 16 Italians (all friends) who made absolutely no effort to mingle with the rest of us. It took the rest of us - a mixture of northern Europeans and Commonwealthers - aback for the first day or so, until we ourselves 'bonded' a bit. There were 2 single women on the trip (of which I am one), and the Italian noise and general bluster was quite overwhelming at times and the group dynamic was greatly affected by it for the whole cruise - I know the Tour Manager and crew found their dominance very hard to deal with.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In some ways no. My cruise-mates and I discussed things like this and we were, just as an example, appalled that we went through so many small plastic bottles of water (issued by the crew) per day, when there was a perfectly good (but never filled) big water-cooler in the restaurant. Two other niggles while I am here: There were precious few hairdryers (they had all been nicked, apparently by previous cruisers), and when I asked to rent a swimming towel I was told to just use my regular towel, since there were none! So Salty Towels were had by all!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Despite the above, it was lovely - but it was by no means perfect and only gets four stars by a whisker. The Tour Manager (who thank goodness, given the situation, spoke good Italian) had very poor English, and so lacked the ability to be proactive. He was shy and charming, and did his best to be helpful but struggled a bit - and never addressed the whole group with instructions, so often we didn't quite understand the daily plan which therefore tended to travel via Chinese whispers. By the end of the week we (the English speakers) had worked on Croatian indifference/reserve amongst the rest of the crew, and the 18 year old barman (in his first job) finally cracked a smile! The food, by the way, was pretty good.

Read the operator's response here:

I am sorry to hear about the group on your cruise that didnít mix with the rest of the clients. Usually part of the fun of these cruises is the people you meet on board and I am glad that the rest of you managed to bond after a day or two. It is not possible to vet this in advance unfortunately. There is an ongoing review in Croatia about how water is provided. Water-coolers have been tried but proved problematic as they can be unstable when the vessel is in motion, especially if the sea isnít flat. Additionally there is little water available on some islands so there it isnít possible to collect water locally from the system. I am sorry and surprised to hear about the hair dryers and towels, this is unusual though perhaps better for the environment!

review 29 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sailing and swim stops. Also how helpful all the crew were with our 11 month old baby. Especially Emil.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do your reseach and dont trust Responsible travelle, 1 couple on our boat were told it was adults only (we had a baby with us).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In some ways yes, but lunch and dinner off the boat would have contributed more.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Good. Expensive for what it was so wouldnt go again. Also crew were very unhelpful in helping us recover items left onboard. They didnt check when we asked them so were likely thrown away.

review 6 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing dolphins swimming near the boat

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you want a quiet vacation it's not for you.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No, not really. All waste collected as one lot no re-cycling.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Crew and boat good, very clean, safe crew very knowledgeable.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to see you really enjoyed the trip. The waters around Croatia are some of the cleanest in the Mediterranean - there is virtually no rubbish in the sea or on the coast (the fact that you encountered dolphins is an encouraging sign) and the captains of the vessels, most of whom own their own vessels, are very aware that their livelihood is dependent on the local environment remaining as pristine as possible. The vessels do recycle - I am surprised to hear that the waste was collected as 1 lot - do you have any more details about this and we will follow up. They usually recycle glass, plastics, tin and paper where possible and dispose of other waste strictly in line with local rules. I was on a ship myself 3 weeks ago and they were very careful about disposing of waste and recycling. I am a little surprised to to see that you don't think the cruise will have benefited the local economy. The vessel is owned and crewed by Croatians, and all the food served on board is bought locally. Additionally you will have eaten ashore on most nights providing income for all the small restaurants and cafes that line the ports, and many of which grow their own produce locally, including wine, cheese and olives. The vessels pays mooring fees to the small ports that larger vessels cannot access thus helping maintain the ports facilities.

review 31 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being in and around the beautiful Adriatic

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't miss the opportunity to include a small ship cruise in your Adriatic vacation

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope it helped the local economy. There was nothing about the trip that reduced environmental impact or supported conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. More commentary would have been nice from the cruise leader.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to see you really enjoyed the trip. The cruise will have benefited the local economy. The vessel is owned and crewed by Croatians, and all the food served on board is bought locally. Additionally you will have eaten ashore on most nights providing income for all the small restaurants and cafes that line the ports, and many of which grow their own produce locally, including wine, cheese and olives. The vessels pays mooring fees to the small ports that larger vessels cannot access thus helping maintain the ports facilities. Purely by being on a small ship visiting the small ports you are helping to preserve the environment by negating the need for large cruise ships to visit which would entail dredging and a lot of building work. The small ships also provide accommodation in busy times which reduces the need for building new hotels in culturally and environmentally sensitive areas. Hopefully you will also have had the chance to visit Mljet National Park where your fees will have contributed to maintaining the National Park.

review 23 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Mljet

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Dont go to msksrska beach.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Do me a favour.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fine

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to see you enjoyed the trip. I am a little surprised to to see that you don't think the cruise will have benefited the local economy. The vessel is owned and crewed by Croatians, and all the food served on board is bought locally. Additionally you will have eaten ashore on most nights providing income for all the small restaurants and cafes that line the ports, and many of which grow their own produce locally, including wine, cheese and olives. The vessels pays mooring fees to the small ports that larger vessels cannot access thus helping maintain the ports facilities.

review 10 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The island hopping

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to pay for water. You get one bottle/day and you have to purchase an entire bottle of wine which costs about $28 which is very expensive. Everything else was nice.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The only thing I would change is the meals. They were mostly fried and the few vegetables offered were limp, overcooked, frozen vegetables. The salads were iceberg lettuce which has very little nutritional value with some tomatoes. I also think it would be nice if they cleaned once during the visit especially the bathrooms and due to the moisture towels need to be replaced more than one time.

Read the operator's response here:

I am glad to hear you rated your vacation so well, but I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the meals on board - This is very unusual as the food is usually excellent and very fresh. It can vary a little between the different vessels. I am going out to Croatia next week for my own vacation, though I will be on a different vessel.

review 3 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful scenery, the islands were very pretty. The people on the cruise were very sociable and it was good to chat and meet new people. The staff were friendly and helpful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The rooms have twin beds, which was disappointing and they have a large frame around the base so pushing them together doesn't work. On visiting the islands, the boats travel together, sometimes in convoy. I expected it to be a little more peaceful. Everynight, you are berthed alongside another 7 boats and another row behind, which you have to cross to get ashore. This is usually OK, but sometimes can be large jump. Also, some of these boats are partying and maybe noisy until midnight. The boats leave when they say they will, they don't do head counts, I pointed out that a couple were missing in Dubrovnik, they did send a boat back to get them. We asked the rep for his mobile number and they are not to give them out. At the end of the cruise the rep gives his goodbye speech and then reminds you of the tip, no problem with this. He then tells you how much they expect per person, per room one envelope for him and one envelope for the crew. He suggested 100 euros per envelope. This spoilt the last night, people then discussing etc. We left a tip but it certainly wasn't 200 euros.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt that the local islands and people benefited from the income. I was concerned about the 16 diesel boats motoring from island to island and also I would question the fact that we were provided with 2 bottles of water per person per day, 32 people per week. If you multiply that by weeks per year and 16 boats that is a lot of plastic bottles, what happens to these? I would hope that you expect your vacation/boat companies to have environmental policy in line with "responsible" sustainable travel?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was very relaxing and very enjoyable. I would recommend to people, but be aware of the number of boats traveling each day.

Read the operator's response here:

Carrying water in bottles was an answer to another problem, that of lack of water on the islands of Croatia's Adriatic coast. Everyone is aware it is not an ideal solution and alternatives are being looked at - In fact I am traveling to Croatia this weekend and the use of water bottles will certainly be part of the discussions for next year. The bottles are carefully and properly disposed of but it would be better if they weren't used in the first place. The economic benefit to the islands of these cruises is considerable but they don't have the resources on the islands serve all of the visitors that they would like. The vessels themselves provide a solution to the lack of accommodation (only prevalent from May - September) and they are trying to avoid exacerbating the lack of water.

review 15 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Exploring the tiny towns

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Travel in the cooler months

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really good, we enjoyed the trip very much

review 3 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The staff on the boat were fantastic as was the tour guide, the places we went were beautiful, particularly Dubrovnik. The highlight was probably the swim stops each day in beautiful coves and small islands

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to have a strict timetable, wasn't quite as easy going as I expected!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, local business was supported through the use of local guides and fresh food bought for the boat daily in each port

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really enjoyed it and would recommend it as a way of seeing a lot of Croatia in a short period

review 29 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Exploring the small towns each afternoon and into the night really allowed us to feel part of Croatia.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pick the seasons well and avoid peak if possible, we were the first boat leaving Split for the season, and it was quiet and hardly saw another tourist, a week later could have been a different story. Mid April was cold so swimming was not on the agenda, even though we did once, Mid September from report are better and warmer with most tourists home and schoolchildren back at school.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the Croatian people rely on the tourist to survive, so shopping local is the key, maybe a little more expensive than we thought, but happy to pay this in this country.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

9 from 10, the only deduction was the cold water in April.

review 28 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The outstanding crew and the other passengers on the boat.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book a cabin below deck because it is quieter.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think that it probably provided economic benefits to the residents of the small towns that we visited. I do not think that being on a diesel boat was particularly environmentally friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was enjoyable and relaxing. The tour director could have done a better job. There were several additional excursions that were not presented and she was ill prepared with local maps and information for the various towns we visited. She also did not mingle with the guests much.

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Betsy. Thank you for your kind comments about the crew and the cruise. These small ships only travel small distances as they can access the local ports that larger vessels can't access, so they use much less fuel by traveling a much reduced distance. As yet it is not practical to install electric motors in these vessels though we hope that will become practical in a few years. Using small ships also negates the need for building hotels on the small islands and ports, helping preserve the identity of the destination as well as reducing the environmental factors involved in building. It is also a greener way to travel than for instance driving a hire car around the country, and will also be greener than any flights used to reach Croatia from your home.

review 13 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The glorious scenery and time to explore the old towns

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Lunches were set menus and of a reasonable standard but be prepared to be flexible in your tastes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Time to explore and having evening meals ashore would support the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

As expected - varied and interesting. I would suggest that they make more of an effort to provide summaries of islands to be visited and maps / places of interest in advance or at start of cruise. Verbal information from the guide was generally insufficient to get the most of the visits, although I had spent some time reading in advance.

review 23 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Croatia itself

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You won regret it, overall a great way to see the beautiful islands

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism can be beneficial to a country but I also got the sense that Croatians feel overwhelmed by the increase in the numbers of tourists especially in Dubrovnik.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 15 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I liked the fact that there was enough time for activities ( hiking, swimming, sightseeing), traveling and relaxation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Wear comfortable shoes and bring a sweater and wind breaker for cooler evenings if going in October.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited the Croatian family who owned the ship, but they should cut down on all those plastic water bottles that they hand out.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a small cruise ship with excellent food and service at a fair price.

review 8 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Wonderful places, weather and company.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go in May or Sept/Oct as locations are less busy and weather is more bearable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing

review 2 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of it!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Check if possible that you have a mix of ages or passengers of similar age, if that is important to you. We had a lovely mix.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As the ship was owned by the Captain and his family, yes the vacation benefited local people. Also the arrangement re eating evening meals off the ship and using local restaurants and other amenities. Paying to go into National Park helps to support conservation. Using small ships instead if the awful huge cruise liners must also reduce the negative impact on communities as well as on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Could not fault one thing. I have sent a full comprehensive review re the outstanding service we received on board, particularly with regard to our very elderly gentleman with poor mobility.My lasting impression? ...we were all, including the crew, 'one happy family' having a great time in a beautiful part of the world.

review 27 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Stopping in a different place every afternoon, getting of the yacht and going to explore the island and having dinner at different restaurants every night.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take some warm clothes with, as the weather and sea can suddenly change and it can get a bit chilly. Also take comfy shoes for walking and seeing all the different Islands.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I love shopping, so I supported all the local shops and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was excellent, I loved it, just not the rough days at sea. I would suggest that the yachts should have a water dispenser on board, I saw it on a few different yachts that we walked throug , but our yacht only gave us 2 small bottles of water a day which was not enough. I would defiantly go again, but would like to be able to chose what yacht I go on :)

review 4 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sailing into Dubrovnik and later doing the Game of Thrones tour.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't be concerned over the lower deck cabins, they were spacious and you spent little time in the cabin.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate at local restaurants which was positive. However we all had 3 bottles of water a day and I wondered if refillable bottles could have been used.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good - a great mix of relaxing and sightseeing with a excellent tour leader on the boat.

review 3 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hvar and Kracula were amazing island and definitely worth a second visit

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring very little clothes and bring snorkels as there is lots to see on the swim stops

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as every one in the shop at least are and most bought things in each town.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. Highly recommend it

review 17 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This was the perfect vacation for our family, some of whom are very active (and could find opportunities to swim, hike, and bike) and others who prefer a more relaxed vacation (lots of reading, sitting in cafes, and sleeping in the sun). We were able to start the day together over breakfast and come back together later in the day and share our adventures. The size of this cruise (40 people max) was great, the other travelers friendly, and the staff and facilities were fantastic!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Plan to spend some extra days before and after your cruise - Croatia is a beautiful and diverse country!!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The staff was really helpful in directing us towards local activities, restaurants, and hidden gems, and in pointing out environmental and historical points of interest. They also seemed to care about waste (e.g., using a single water jug instead of lots of plastic bottles) and conservation of the stunning places we got to visit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, I would absolutely recommend Uneasy no settle, and our tour operator.

review 26 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole vacation was fantastic. The boat ----the crew---the journey---the food-- the country and other passengers from all over the world. The planned journey was excellent----Split-Dubrovnic plus all of the islands.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The boats are graded eg--Deluxe-A plus--A--B. Decide which package you require, based on accommodation and food etc. I took Kuna (local currency) and Euros. Hardly anyone would take the Euros.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people were definitely benefited with regards to all of us on the boats visiting restaurants and shops every day. Local people were so friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I have travelled all over the world--- this vacation was up there with the best.

review 11 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole experience was lovely. The crew were great as was the tour rep on board. All the passengers on board from all nationalities joined in and we had a wonderful time together.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You have to leave the boat at 9am on the morning of your departure so would suggest getting a mid afternoon flight or staying a extra day.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt the local people benefited as we called into many small islands and used the facilities i.e. Restaurants shops etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This is the first vacation we have taken of this kind and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The boat was just the right size and everything was clean and you got to know the crew and fellow passengers in a relaxed environment.

review 12 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The swimming from the boat in crystal clear water

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Check that the boat you are booked on is suitable for your age and interests.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Without tourism they would have no money. But I hated the "party boats"! These were sometimes moored at night in our vicinity.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good excellent boat and great international team of guests.

review 31 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The highlight of the trip for me was walking around the walls of Dubrovnik. The cruise ship, Spalato, was wonderful with a comfortable shady deck where you can sit and watch the amazing scenery go by, or take the sun on the top deck if you are so inclined. Swimming off the boat was another delight.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The crew and tour guide were incredibly helpful and will do their best to meet special dietary requirements provided you tell them right at the beginning. Be aware that some of the overnight stops (especially Hvar) are very noisy, with party boats and nightclubs on the promenade, so if this is not your thing get a cabin on the lower deck which is pretty much soundproof (and cooler too). We travelled in midsummer and found it more comfortable to stay on the boat till about 8 pm then go ashore, rather than trying to see the sights in the middle of the afternoon. If you want to walk the walls of Dubrovnik (and who wouldn't), go as soon as it opens, 8 a.m. It gets incredibly crowded especially if there are big cruise ships visiting. There are a lot of steep steps, so not great if you have walking difficulties.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Positives: The crew were all local people and all the food and drink served on board was Croatian (delicious). We were encouraged to go onshore and try local wines and restaurants for dinner. The ship was built and fitted in Croatia. Negatives: Each passenger was given two plastic water bottles a day, which is an awful lot of plastic; a central water-cooler and refillable bottles would have been better. I was shocked to learn that the crew and the tour guide have to work a six-month contract without a day off, and they are heavily dependent on tips. I don't call this a responsible employment model. The same shipping line operates party-boat cruises which are basically a lot of twenty-somethings drinking themselves silly and polluting the environment with loud "music" till midnight. Our boat was far more sedate with an average age of 50, but we found ourselves moored next to a party-boat several times.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a fabulous vacation in a beautiful part of the world, and I cannot fault the efforts of the crew and tour-guide to make sure we had a great time. The ship was just the right size (35 guests, 7 crew) and we quickly made friends.

Read the operator's response here:

Many thanks for your feedback and we are pleased you had a great vacation. The plastic water bottles is an issue I am aware of, and I am visiting Croatia in November to, amongst other things, discuss how this can be avoided. There is a logistical problem however as it is not possible to carry enough fresh drinking water on board for the whole trip and water is a scarce commodity on the islands which is why bottled water has been used until now Ė It is easy to transport and move and is not taken from scarce resources on the islands. The crew and guides do work a long season, but are relatively well paid by Croatian standards, earning well above the Croatian average wage, and these posts are much in demand. The crew are often members of the captainís family and do often get to go home for a night or two during a cruise.

review 2 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The water along the Dalmatian coast is so crystal clear - beautiful swimming.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This cruise was very easy way to see a variety of Croatian waters/ towns without the hassle of buses/ ferries/ having to find accommodation in each new place.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Coastline is amazingly clean which is nice to see.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was an excellent vacation for slightly travel weary traveler.

review 26 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The people we met, the villages and small towns we visited and the turquoise waters.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If swimming is important to you, September would be better. We cruised in May and it was cold. Bring ear plugs because the ship ties up with other ships and the closeness can sometimes be noisy.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people because we spent money in each place we visited. Not sure how it reduced environmental impacts and supported conservation in any way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

High on the list. The ship was nice and had everything we needed. It was all about the geography and visuals along the way. The reason we rate the cruise a 4 is because of our sleep quality with noise and beds that were not very comfortable.But we would do the cruise again.

review 4 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hvar- a beautiful town.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

A lot of ships follow the same itinerary so it is not quite so individualised as it sounds. Find out the size of the other passengers parties before you travel, there was a party of 24 on our ship which dominated the ship and made us feel excluded.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The ship was run by a local company and visited local villages and towns supporting their economy, however these may not always be the places you would like to visit as a tourist. Felt the journey would benefit from being one way as there wasn't much on the return itinerary. It would therefore be more environment to make this a one way trip so that the return trip catered for another group.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Relaxing and got to see places we would not have visited. Quality of food was ok but no choices which was challenging with children. Not a particularly family orientated feel to the trip.

review 9 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The isolated, crowd-free swim stops

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go during low season

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No. Unfortunately the crew on the ship seemed unhappy, especially the chef, who openly complained about to high workload, being the only one to cook for 30+ people!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was good. I would have liked better cleaning in the cabin and a vegetarian option for the included lunches.

Read the operator's response here:

I am surprised that you thought there was no benefit to the local population. All the crew were local people, and all the food and drink served on board was Croatian and bought locally. In the evenings all the passengers go ashore to eat in local restaurants and try local wines and restaurants for dinner Ė How much better is that than the vast vessels that employ the cheapest crews from around the world and do their best to keep all spending on board the ships? The crew and guides are relatively well paid by Croatian standards, earning well above the Croatian average wage, and these posts are much in demand. There are around 50 or more of these vessels working in Croatia and most have 1 chef but they do get help from other members of the crew for some tasks. Preparing food for 30 people (breakfasts and lunches) is hard work but should be well within the scope of a trained chef. Co-incidentally 2 of our staff have visited Croatia in the last month and both cruised on the same vessel and there were no issues with the crew at all.

review 6 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We ended up feeling that a 'cruise' vacation is not for us. Comfort, food and host guide were all excellent and the other 36 passengers were pleasing to meet. But, cocooned in the elegant ship we didn't get any real feeling of Croatia. The coastal strip that we visited earns its living solely from tourism extinguishing local character. One organised visit inland gave us a characterful meal but otherwise it was up to Split at the start of the cruise to show us a wonderful market teeming with local life. What we'd originally been looking for was the simpler style of the Turkish gulet able to explore the smaller bays and inlets. Perhaps, unlike Turkey, there isn't much life to be found on this coast outside tourism?

review 17 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Swimming off the boat in the beautiful clear blue water in little bays and fabulous food in every town that we visited. The historical town of Dubrovnik is well worth a visit and we plan to visit again perhaps when it is cooler and less busy.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We stayed overnight in Split on the way out which worked well and allowed us to get to our departure point without having to rush. The walking tour in Dubrovnik was excellent.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were made aware that the boat was owned and run by a local family.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was exactly as described and is a great way to see several different islands. Meeting and traveling with people from different countries made the trip very enjoyable.

review 7 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Natural beauty of the islands and significant history of the places visited.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Learn a bit about the historical sites first.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It appears that only local people benefitted. No signs of poor environmental practices.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable. Nice fellow passengers to have interesting conversations with. Relaxed and pleasant crew. The scenery very attractive especially in National parks and unesco sites. Plenty to learn about. Comfortable small ship.

review 4 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The swim stops! They were excellent - swimming to shore from the boat, or simply round the boat in the clear blue water :-)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

As for a room on the very upper deck - when your mored alongside other boats being on the middle deck means people have to walk past your room on to their boat.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people - yes. We visited quiet and small villages - although on one of those stops we ate on boeard so our contribution to the local economy was more limited. Environmentally - not so sure. Two small plastic bottles of water each day, rather than one big one seemed it wasn't as environmental friendly as it could be.... Plus I watched the boys (things that protect the side of the boats from damage when docked) being cleaned with ajax and simply washed into the sea, I have to say I was quite shocked by this!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I enjoyed it lots, friendly people, a good sun deck and lots of yummy food!

Read the operator's response here:

The people that operate the vessel have an annual company meeting to discuss environmental and responsible issues, and the water bottle issue should be easy to take on board. Thank you

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Uneasy no settle reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy