23 independent reviews for Southern Croatia cruise in comfort

Reviews for Southern Croatia cruise in comfort

SHOW
11
8
4
0
0

review 21 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The itinerary was great - all of it was memorable. (The 7 night cruise round the Dalmatian coast from Split). Loved being on the top deck as we sailed past the coast and islands. I couldn't jump off the ship so couldnt take advantage of the swim stops (though enjoyed watching the brave ones - the water is cold in May). So a memorable moment was when they took us in relays in the little speed boat to the famous Zlatni Rat beach in Brac. Don't take that off the itinerary!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

1. No need to overpack - it is informal and you can wash clothes as you go. You can buy summer gear out there cheaply, especially in Split. 2. Later in the season it will be very hot. Be careful not to overdo the sun and to use high factor sun cream. Wear a hat or visor. 3. There is already a warning in the literature for those with mobility problems, but to emphasise, you will have to walk through a number of boats to get on and off. The greatest number of boats on our early season trip was 5, that can go up to 20 in July or August! Can be tricky jumping across the spaces between the boats. One elderly guest couldnt go offshore at some places. 5. Dont be afraid to go alone. I felt very relaxed and everyone on board was great company . With 18 cabins, the ship was a perfect size. 6. I got a cheap flight to Split on the Wednesdayand stayed cheaply in an apartment for the three nights before joining the ship (or you could get a B&B). I booked the flights and apartment online. That worked well. I liked Split a lot and felt comfortable being on my own there. 7. Dont go in July or August - too hot, too crowded. May was nice, though there is the risk of occasional rain. September would be a good month as the sea would be warm.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

1. I liked that the boats are owned by Croations. Our skipper had his own olive trees and we sampled his olive oil. It gives employment to local people. 2. We were given two bottles of water free each day. That is a lot of plastic but probably difficult to find a solution. You do need the water. 3. My only dislike about the trip, which was 5 star overall, was that smoking was allowed on the middle deck in the seating area outside the salon. That bothered quite a few people. You couldnt have that in the US or Australia, where most of the guests were from. 4. Tourism is essential for Croatians but places get overcrowded in high season and locals get priced out of places like Dubrovnik, which has become a dead city in winter. Sad.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Just wonderful. It was one of the best vacations I have ever had. Can’t recommend it too highly. The boat, MS Moonlight, was very comfortable, luxurious even and the crew were excellent - incredibly hardworking. The below-deck cabin was comfortable. The food on board was good. I asked for fish rather than meat and they were fine with that. They even provided gluten-free bread for one guest. The coastline was beautiful and there was a nice mix of historic (Dubrovnik and Split) and conservation (Mijet national park) and small (the little village of Trstenik). The three one hour walking tours added to our appreciation of the towns and all the guides were very good.

review 29 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Exploring the small towns each afternoon and into the night really allowed us to feel part of Croatia.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pick the seasons well and avoid peak if possible, we were the first boat leaving Split for the season, and it was quiet and hardly saw another tourist, a week later could have been a different story. Mid April was cold so swimming was not on the agenda, even though we did once, Mid September from report are better and warmer with most tourists home and schoolchildren back at school.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the Croatian people rely on the tourist to survive, so shopping local is the key, maybe a little more expensive than we thought, but happy to pay this in this country.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

9 from 10, the only deduction was the cold water in April.

review 13 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The glorious scenery and time to explore the old towns

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Lunches were set menus and of a reasonable standard but be prepared to be flexible in your tastes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Time to explore and having evening meals ashore would support the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

As expected - varied and interesting. I would suggest that they make more of an effort to provide summaries of islands to be visited and maps / places of interest in advance or at start of cruise. Verbal information from the guide was generally insufficient to get the most of the visits, although I had spent some time reading in advance.

review 23 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Croatia itself

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You won regret it, overall a great way to see the beautiful islands

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism can be beneficial to a country but I also got the sense that Croatians feel overwhelmed by the increase in the numbers of tourists especially in Dubrovnik.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 15 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I liked the fact that there was enough time for activities ( hiking, swimming, sightseeing), traveling and relaxation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Wear comfortable shoes and bring a sweater and wind breaker for cooler evenings if going in October.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited the Croatian family who owned the ship, but they should cut down on all those plastic water bottles that they hand out.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a small cruise ship with excellent food and service at a fair price.

review 8 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Wonderful places, weather and company.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go in May or Sept/Oct as locations are less busy and weather is more bearable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing

review 2 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of it!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Check if possible that you have a mix of ages or passengers of similar age, if that is important to you. We had a lovely mix.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As the ship was owned by the Captain and his family, yes the vacation benefited local people. Also the arrangement re eating evening meals off the ship and using local restaurants and other amenities. Paying to go into National Park helps to support conservation. Using small ships instead if the awful huge cruise liners must also reduce the negative impact on communities as well as on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Could not fault one thing. I have sent a full comprehensive review re the outstanding service we received on board, particularly with regard to our very elderly gentleman with poor mobility.My lasting impression? ...we were all, including the crew, 'one happy family' having a great time in a beautiful part of the world.

review 27 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Stopping in a different place every afternoon, getting of the yacht and going to explore the island and having dinner at different restaurants every night.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take some warm clothes with, as the weather and sea can suddenly change and it can get a bit chilly. Also take comfy shoes for walking and seeing all the different Islands.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I love shopping, so I supported all the local shops and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was excellent, I loved it, just not the rough days at sea. I would suggest that the yachts should have a water dispenser on board, I saw it on a few different yachts that we walked throug , but our yacht only gave us 2 small bottles of water a day which was not enough. I would defiantly go again, but would like to be able to chose what yacht I go on :)

review 4 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sailing into Dubrovnik and later doing the Game of Thrones tour.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't be concerned over the lower deck cabins, they were spacious and you spent little time in the cabin.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate at local restaurants which was positive. However we all had 3 bottles of water a day and I wondered if refillable bottles could have been used.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good - a great mix of relaxing and sightseeing with a excellent tour leader on the boat.

review 3 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hvar and Kracula were amazing island and definitely worth a second visit

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring very little clothes and bring snorkels as there is lots to see on the swim stops

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as every one in the shop at least are and most bought things in each town.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. Highly recommend it

review 17 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This was the perfect vacation for our family, some of whom are very active (and could find opportunities to swim, hike, and bike) and others who prefer a more relaxed vacation (lots of reading, sitting in cafes, and sleeping in the sun). We were able to start the day together over breakfast and come back together later in the day and share our adventures. The size of this cruise (40 people max) was great, the other travelers friendly, and the staff and facilities were fantastic!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Plan to spend some extra days before and after your cruise - Croatia is a beautiful and diverse country!!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The staff was really helpful in directing us towards local activities, restaurants, and hidden gems, and in pointing out environmental and historical points of interest. They also seemed to care about waste (e.g., using a single water jug instead of lots of plastic bottles) and conservation of the stunning places we got to visit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, I would absolutely recommend Uneasy no settle, and our tour operator.

review 26 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole vacation was fantastic. The boat ----the crew---the journey---the food-- the country and other passengers from all over the world. The planned journey was excellent----Split-Dubrovnic plus all of the islands.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The boats are graded eg--Deluxe-A plus--A--B. Decide which package you require, based on accommodation and food etc. I took Kuna (local currency) and Euros. Hardly anyone would take the Euros.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people were definitely benefited with regards to all of us on the boats visiting restaurants and shops every day. Local people were so friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I have travelled all over the world--- this vacation was up there with the best.

review 11 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole experience was lovely. The crew were great as was the tour rep on board. All the passengers on board from all nationalities joined in and we had a wonderful time together.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You have to leave the boat at 9am on the morning of your departure so would suggest getting a mid afternoon flight or staying a extra day.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt the local people benefited as we called into many small islands and used the facilities i.e. Restaurants shops etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This is the first vacation we have taken of this kind and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The boat was just the right size and everything was clean and you got to know the crew and fellow passengers in a relaxed environment.

review 12 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The swimming from the boat in crystal clear water

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Check that the boat you are booked on is suitable for your age and interests.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Without tourism they would have no money. But I hated the "party boats"! These were sometimes moored at night in our vicinity.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good excellent boat and great international team of guests.

review 31 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The highlight of the trip for me was walking around the walls of Dubrovnik. The cruise ship, Spalato, was wonderful with a comfortable shady deck where you can sit and watch the amazing scenery go by, or take the sun on the top deck if you are so inclined. Swimming off the boat was another delight.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The crew and tour guide were incredibly helpful and will do their best to meet special dietary requirements provided you tell them right at the beginning. Be aware that some of the overnight stops (especially Hvar) are very noisy, with party boats and nightclubs on the promenade, so if this is not your thing get a cabin on the lower deck which is pretty much soundproof (and cooler too). We travelled in midsummer and found it more comfortable to stay on the boat till about 8 pm then go ashore, rather than trying to see the sights in the middle of the afternoon. If you want to walk the walls of Dubrovnik (and who wouldn't), go as soon as it opens, 8 a.m. It gets incredibly crowded especially if there are big cruise ships visiting. There are a lot of steep steps, so not great if you have walking difficulties.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Positives: The crew were all local people and all the food and drink served on board was Croatian (delicious). We were encouraged to go onshore and try local wines and restaurants for dinner. The ship was built and fitted in Croatia. Negatives: Each passenger was given two plastic water bottles a day, which is an awful lot of plastic; a central water-cooler and refillable bottles would have been better. I was shocked to learn that the crew and the tour guide have to work a six-month contract without a day off, and they are heavily dependent on tips. I don't call this a responsible employment model. The same shipping line operates party-boat cruises which are basically a lot of twenty-somethings drinking themselves silly and polluting the environment with loud "music" till midnight. Our boat was far more sedate with an average age of 50, but we found ourselves moored next to a party-boat several times.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a fabulous vacation in a beautiful part of the world, and I cannot fault the efforts of the crew and tour-guide to make sure we had a great time. The ship was just the right size (35 guests, 7 crew) and we quickly made friends.

Read the operator's response here:

Many thanks for your feedback and we are pleased you had a great vacation. The plastic water bottles is an issue I am aware of, and I am visiting Croatia in November to, amongst other things, discuss how this can be avoided. There is a logistical problem however as it is not possible to carry enough fresh drinking water on board for the whole trip and water is a scarce commodity on the islands which is why bottled water has been used until now – It is easy to transport and move and is not taken from scarce resources on the islands. The crew and guides do work a long season, but are relatively well paid by Croatian standards, earning well above the Croatian average wage, and these posts are much in demand. The crew are often members of the captain’s family and do often get to go home for a night or two during a cruise.

review 2 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The water along the Dalmatian coast is so crystal clear - beautiful swimming.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This cruise was very easy way to see a variety of Croatian waters/ towns without the hassle of buses/ ferries/ having to find accommodation in each new place.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Coastline is amazingly clean which is nice to see.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was an excellent vacation for slightly travel weary traveler.

review 26 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The people we met, the villages and small towns we visited and the turquoise waters.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If swimming is important to you, September would be better. We cruised in May and it was cold. Bring ear plugs because the ship ties up with other ships and the closeness can sometimes be noisy.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people because we spent money in each place we visited. Not sure how it reduced environmental impacts and supported conservation in any way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

High on the list. The ship was nice and had everything we needed. It was all about the geography and visuals along the way. The reason we rate the cruise a 4 is because of our sleep quality with noise and beds that were not very comfortable.But we would do the cruise again.

review 4 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hvar- a beautiful town.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

A lot of ships follow the same itinerary so it is not quite so individualised as it sounds. Find out the size of the other passengers parties before you travel, there was a party of 24 on our ship which dominated the ship and made us feel excluded.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The ship was run by a local company and visited local villages and towns supporting their economy, however these may not always be the places you would like to visit as a tourist. Felt the journey would benefit from being one way as there wasn't much on the return itinerary. It would therefore be more environment to make this a one way trip so that the return trip catered for another group.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Relaxing and got to see places we would not have visited. Quality of food was ok but no choices which was challenging with children. Not a particularly family orientated feel to the trip.

review 9 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The isolated, crowd-free swim stops

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go during low season

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No. Unfortunately the crew on the ship seemed unhappy, especially the chef, who openly complained about to high workload, being the only one to cook for 30+ people!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was good. I would have liked better cleaning in the cabin and a vegetarian option for the included lunches.

Read the operator's response here:

I am surprised that you thought there was no benefit to the local population. All the crew were local people, and all the food and drink served on board was Croatian and bought locally. In the evenings all the passengers go ashore to eat in local restaurants and try local wines and restaurants for dinner – How much better is that than the vast vessels that employ the cheapest crews from around the world and do their best to keep all spending on board the ships? The crew and guides are relatively well paid by Croatian standards, earning well above the Croatian average wage, and these posts are much in demand. There are around 50 or more of these vessels working in Croatia and most have 1 chef but they do get help from other members of the crew for some tasks. Preparing food for 30 people (breakfasts and lunches) is hard work but should be well within the scope of a trained chef. Co-incidentally 2 of our staff have visited Croatia in the last month and both cruised on the same vessel and there were no issues with the crew at all.

review 6 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We ended up feeling that a 'cruise' vacation is not for us. Comfort, food and host guide were all excellent and the other 36 passengers were pleasing to meet. But, cocooned in the elegant ship we didn't get any real feeling of Croatia. The coastal strip that we visited earns its living solely from tourism extinguishing local character. One organised visit inland gave us a characterful meal but otherwise it was up to Split at the start of the cruise to show us a wonderful market teeming with local life. What we'd originally been looking for was the simpler style of the Turkish gulet able to explore the smaller bays and inlets. Perhaps, unlike Turkey, there isn't much life to be found on this coast outside tourism?

review 17 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Swimming off the boat in the beautiful clear blue water in little bays and fabulous food in every town that we visited. The historical town of Dubrovnik is well worth a visit and we plan to visit again perhaps when it is cooler and less busy.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We stayed overnight in Split on the way out which worked well and allowed us to get to our departure point without having to rush. The walking tour in Dubrovnik was excellent.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were made aware that the boat was owned and run by a local family.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was exactly as described and is a great way to see several different islands. Meeting and traveling with people from different countries made the trip very enjoyable.

review 7 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Natural beauty of the islands and significant history of the places visited.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Learn a bit about the historical sites first.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It appears that only local people benefitted. No signs of poor environmental practices.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable. Nice fellow passengers to have interesting conversations with. Relaxed and pleasant crew. The scenery very attractive especially in National parks and unesco sites. Plenty to learn about. Comfortable small ship.

review 4 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The swim stops! They were excellent - swimming to shore from the boat, or simply round the boat in the clear blue water :-)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

As for a room on the very upper deck - when your mored alongside other boats being on the middle deck means people have to walk past your room on to their boat.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people - yes. We visited quiet and small villages - although on one of those stops we ate on boeard so our contribution to the local economy was more limited. Environmentally - not so sure. Two small plastic bottles of water each day, rather than one big one seemed it wasn't as environmental friendly as it could be.... Plus I watched the boys (things that protect the side of the boats from damage when docked) being cleaned with ajax and simply washed into the sea, I have to say I was quite shocked by this!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I enjoyed it lots, friendly people, a good sun deck and lots of yummy food!

Read the operator's response here:

The people that operate the vessel have an annual company meeting to discuss environmental and responsible issues, and the water bottle issue should be easy to take on board. Thank you

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Uneasy no settle reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy